One day at Hong Kong Disneyland

My experience staying at the Hong Kong Disneyland Resort.

Hey Magical Day
4 min readFeb 11, 2021

In 2019 I traveled to all the Disney parks in Asia, and Hong Kong Disneyland was the second stop. Out of all the parks, I hear and see the least about Hong Kong Disneyland which I think is a shame. I have seen more people post about it in 2020 because of the closings and reopenings of all the Disney parks, as well as the completion of the new castle, but I think if you have the opportunity to go, it’s definitely worth it.

Do You Need a Visa to Visit Hong Kong?

At the time we went, it was not necessary to apply for a tourist visa in advance and you were able to be there as a tourist for up to 90 days. Please make sure to look up the current rules and regulations before you plan your trip because you never know when things can change! Also, I’m from the United States, so please make sure it is the same for you if you are from another country.

Getting From the Airport to the Hotel

I honestly don’t remember if we even looked into the Express Rail Link and bus options at the time. I just remember getting a taxi and it being very easy, a quick 20-minute drive, and not too expensive. If I were going again, I might look into one of the other options just to see, but I have a feeling I would just go with the taxi option again.

Disneyland Hotel Lobby

Staying at the Disneyland Hotel

We chose to stay at the Disneyland Hotel because we wanted to stay at all of the Disneyland Hotel locations at all of the resorts. If that wasn’t the deciding factor for us, we probably would have stayed at the Explorers Lodge instead because it looks amazing. But of course, the Disneyland Hotel was absolutely beautiful and a fantastic place to stay.

To get to the park, it’s a short walk to the bus pickup zone and a short ride, but to get from where the bus drops off to the park it is a bit of a walk. The first night we were there we also took a bus to the Hollywood Hotel to get a snack and drink at the Studio Lounge.

Similar to the last night at Shanghai Disneyland, we realized on our last night here that you can walk from the Disneyland Hotel to the park, and it only took about 10 mins.

Mystic Manor

Going into the Park and Must Do Attractions

A similar thing happened here as in Shanghai, the day we arrived we popped into the park to get lunch and it was super empty. The next day when we went in for our full park day, it was a holiday and very busy.

Despite being crowded, it was an incredible day. I think the most recommended ride at this park is Mystic Manor, which I totally agree with. It is kind of like their Haunted Mansion, but it is a completely different story.

My second recommendation is Big Grizzly Mountain Runaway Mine Cars. I think I enjoyed this ride as much as I did because I didn’t know about it before going on it, but it’s also just a solid rollercoaster.

I also recommend the Jungle Cruise (it is different than other Jungle Cruises and worth the ride) and Ant-Man and The Wasp: Nano Battle! (which is similar to Astro Blasters.)

Main Street

Final Thoughts

If you don’t speak Cantonese, you will not have a difficult time here at all. We went into the city on the first night, and there was less English spoken there, but on Disney property, it seemed like everyone spoke English perfectly.

Whenever I think back on the overall trip to all the Disney parks in Asia, Hong Kong is always the first one that comes to mind. There is something about the atmosphere of Hong Kong that I absolutely loved. We didn’t get a very nice Castle photo because it was hidden for construction at the time, so I’m using that as an excuse to make my way back one day (fingers crossed)!

--

--

Hey Magical Day
0 Followers

Travel, photography, daily adventures, and theme parks. ❤